Friday, March 6, 2009

Friday at the Marina.


While waiting at the marina to catch our boat, The Pez Gato II, to go whale watching, this fellow was outside. We walked right past him and thought it was a statue until he moved.... Quite the spectacle. And, I must say.....much more impressive than the Hotel Entertainment Crew.

Yes, that is a baby African lion Travis is holding... Pretty cool huh? And below you'll see the cute little Jaguar I was holding... so soft and cuddly...all he wanted to do is take a nap. The gentleman at the booth with them said Im a "good Mommy..." He didn't move a muscle when I got up to put him back in his pen. For a $25.00 donation, you get your picture taken with these little cuties. Proceeds go to fund the wild life refuge here in Mexico someplace. Quite the experience. Before they put the babies in your lap, they tell you "Legs together, hold his tummy with one hand and his armpits with the other. They need to feel secure, or they may scratch/bite you." Seconds after this photo was taken of Travis, the baby lion started to slip between his legs. The lion is 3 months old and about 30#. Trav was a little nervous to move him too much, as this little girl liked to play....and she likes to bite on the things she plays with... You can see her trying to use his wrist as a teething toy. The baby Jaguar on the other hand was 2 months old and could barely keep his little eyes open... He just wanted a nap where someone was petting him and the Lion would quit sucking/biting on his tail! SUPERCUTIES! I did seriously ask Travis if I could have one..... He said no..... Usual answer!! ;o)

We're ready to come home! Getting ready now to head upstairs and pack! See you soon. We heard its snowing in Seattle this weekend.... Do what you can to get rid of that stuff for us, will ya?
Posted by Picasa

Friday... Whale watching

Today we went whale watching. We had a terrific time. There was a nice breeze on the water as well as today there is a light cloud cover high in the sky, so its cooler today than it has been. Travis got a great opportunity to try out his camera and he's downloaded some pitcure editing software so he was able to edit the pictures as well, to crop off all the extra stuff.




We only saw a whale or two for the first hour or so of our trip. They were off in the distance and as soon as we'd get over to the area they were, they would be gone. Finally, we got out a little farther north on the Pacific Ocean side and we got into a pod of about 4-5 whales. We're not sure exactly how many, as they don't all surface at the same time. Travis got some GREAT pictures. We had a ton of fun and it was a nice change to be out doing something this afternoon.
Posted by Picasa

Pictures...AND 3 TURNED OUT NOT HALF BAD!!

We got our pictures today!
And....we got 3 good ones! We got a few more than that, but we need to edit them a bit,
but these are our favorite 3.




Posted by Picasa

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Pictures!


Since we're having such a hard time getting pictures taken of us together, we hired a professional photographer to take us out on the beach and get some photos. For $129.00 we get 8 prints and a cd of all the photos he took. We're hoping that just like our wedding.... JUST 1 picture turns out great and we can give photos out. We haven't had a "family" photo done since we got married, figured it was time to do it and what better place? We're both tan and relaxed and you can't beat the view!! Jeremy was our photographer...from Paris. What's Jeremy doing in Cabo you ask? We wondered too... A friend of his moved here and started a photography business. BRILLIANT IDEA BY THE WAY.... They travel to the different resorts and snap photos of everyone hanging by the pool, visiting, etc, print them all up and sell them for $8. Also hire themselves out for weddings, events, etc. Or, like we did, we see the neat photos by the pool and then have the brochure about sunset photo shoots. Anyway, we were out at the beach for 30 minutes and he must have taken 100 photos.... We just want 1 to turn out great. He did do us a favor and snapped the one above for us with our own camera so we could email it home! That one didn't turn out tooo terrible!

Agenda for tomorrow... whale watching on a 30-40' catamaran. Travis is bored and I hate to agree... Im getting that way as well.... So we booked one last activity. Everyone say a prayer.... In the HUGE ocean and next to those HUGE whales....we're little bath tub toys and IM PETRIFIED OF THE WATER! (I saw jaws WAY to young... I get scared it the deep end of a choloronated swimming pool... you never know what can be hiding in those vents.....)

We'll post tomorrow evening when we get back and tell you how it went.

If Expeditors or EJIW decides to open a Cabo Branch....we volunteer!!

Thursday Morning...


We finally found someone that we've gotten to know, Jerry from Chicago! Nicest guy. He's retired from Exxon Mobile. Said he was getting out while the gettig was good and going to enjoy his retirement before he ended up dead.... Said by 75 he wanted LOTS of stories to tell. This trip he's down here with 3 lovely ladies. One lost her husband 5 months ago, she's here with her sister and her best friend.... I think Jerry's their chapperone.... Nice guy! We really enjoy talking with him. Anyway... back to why we brought up Jerry! First person to take a picture of the two of us together! Itsn't the greatest, but its a picture. If you look to the left, theres part of a cruise ship that docked this morning. Later on in the day, right were that ship is, 3 whales were making a specticle of themselves in the water... Not just coming up for air, like we'd seen before, these guys were TOTALLY showing off for the boats. Jumping up out of the water, hitting their tails at the surface and making some HUGE waves. Was such a great thing to see.

Travis...doing what we do best here, NOTHING!
He got burned...again! Poor guy. I even rubbed 70 spf sunscreen on him. At this point I think a flashlight will give him a sunburn!
The "ENTERTAINMENT CREW" guys. Im not sure what the gold/silver glitter was for.... They didn't do anything but walk around like that, itching...... To each their own I guess....

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Wednesday--- Already!?


We've decided this morning that the newer groups of travelers to the resort are RUDE! We set our alarm, got up early and walked to the pool to claim our spots.... Well, not we, Travis. Then he hopped back in bed for another 30 minutes of sleep. We got up and had breakfast went up to the room to change and headed down to the pool...SOMEONE MOVED OUR CHAIRS AND STOLE 1 of our towels. THE NERVE! Trav politely said, Um, excuse me, these were our chairs. Anyone see what happened to our other towel? The lady sitting next to our chairs (With 2 towles, mind you.... you're only given 1 per person) said... Sorry no... I didn't see anyone. WHAT EVER! We reclaimed our chairs and enjoyed our day in the sunshine. Travis got sunburned...again. I'm applying SPF 45 to him every 2 hours, but its not helping. I on the other hand, haven't put on sunscreen in 2 days and have very brown shoulders!

We went upstairs around 3 to shower and change for the evening. On our bed were two of the most beautiful swans made from TOWELS!! Gorgeous. Our house keeper, Anna Rosa keeps our room picked up and clean and makes sure we have LOTS of towels. Today we have 6, not including the ones the swans took! She takes very good care of us....we still have yet to run into her. She's in an out in a jiffy and we havent' yet gotten to meet her and thank her for the terrific care she takes of us.

Not much happening today..... We decided yesterday we think 5 days is plenty. We might actually be ready to come home once the day is here to do it. I think we're both very relaxed and now ready to get back to real life.... But, we still have 2 more days and we're in no hurry to change flights sooner.... So we're must not be THAT ready yet.

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Tuesday...Todos Santos... Shrimp Chilli Rellenos


The only reason we came back to Cabo.... Doesn't that look tasty? The most wonderful dish on the face of the planet. I got the urge to try a chili relleno back home when going out to dinner with Mom and Gary one evening...GROSS. Nothing compares to this dish....and guess what... He gave me the recipe.... Kinda. I know whats in it... guessing the ammounts is up to me. Senior Miguel did tell me if I email him he'll send the actual recipe. Email is already written.....

The walls of Tequilla Sunrise are filled with signatures, "parts of our souls" that will beforever left at that restaurant.... Not a bare place left.
Senior Miguel and our favorite waiter.... Still the best service at any restaurant we've found. Its just too bad it takes 5 hours on a plane and then an hour and fifteen minute car ride to go there! If your ever in Cabo, this is still the place to go.... You wont regret it.



See, our names are still there!! On the right about 1/2 way down this picture!!

We woke up at 6 to get showered and ready for our trip. Had a light breakfast and waited in the lobby for our shuttle. They were late picking us up, but got here and we were on our way. We didn't realize it until this morning, but we booked this tour with a different company than last time. We got to Todos Santos and got to tour an old college for teachers. In it now is a museum and a community center for the locals. We got to see a small traditional house, made from the local vegitation. You'd be amazed, not 1 nail in the whole place. Beds are made out of wood frames with cow hide woven accrossed it. Our tour guide said "Mexican Orthopedic Bed". Amazing that people live that way compared to the luxury we have in the states. Makes you really appreciate what you have at home...and a little guilty for having the opportunity to go on vacation, when others don't even have running water.

After the college, we were taken to a small restaurant, where lunch was included in our tour.... We, along with 2 other couples on our tour bus politely declined, as we had other ideas for lunch. We were here, if we had to spend more on lunch somewhere else, how could we say no to Senior Miguel and the WORLDS best margaritas. Yes... I got the recipe for this too..... Dad, we'll hook you up!!

We had lunch then wandered in and out of some of the shops. Mostly the same tourist junk as last time. I did buy myself an apron from Tequilla Sunrise and asked Senior Miguel to sign it. He did so very graciously. One of the other couples told Travis... "Thats a damn good idea!" and promptly went over and got his own apron for Senior Miguel to sign.

I'll have to say, this time was just as good as last time....and he's still one of my favorite people on earth! Lunch and a few minutes talking with him was worth the crazy van ride down.

We got home about 3:30....Spent a few minutes in the pool to cool off and continued our new custom of Siesta's. Travis got some reading done for school. We showered, changed, went up to the lobby to post this and now its 8:30....We're going to find some dinner!

Having a wonderful time..... 3 full days and a few hours on Saturday left.....

P.S..... The best part of this trip... Not 1 person has asked us about a time share!!

Talk to you tomorrow!!!

Monday Day.....

Getting Tan, huh? Im working really hard at this.... its a full time job. How does anyone ACTUALLY have time to work a real job?? Im still committed to the idea Im not coming home.



So, yesterDAY was filled with a lot of nothing. After having breakfast and updating our blog, we spent the day at the pool. Travis did manage to find the activities rep and booked us a couple of outings. We were booked for a dinner cruise around the peninsula that night. We got to see the Arch, Lovers Beach, Divorce Beach...the VERY smelly seals. And, we happened upon 3 whales. We didn't get close enough to get a very good look at them, but saw them just the same...and that's an experience worth bragging about.




We were seated on our cruise next to a very nice couple from Mexico City. After an awkward 15 minutes or so, as we do not speak spanish...they speak a minute amount of English, we learned that they have 2 boys, 1 daughter. They are all grown and have 3 grandchildren between them somehow..... And have 2 dogs that are now dead..... But VERY nice people. Although the language barrier was challenging to say the least, we enjoyed their company and were fortunate to know them. We did forget to ask their names...

After a lovely dinner of fish and shrimp, they did a cabaret show with some cheesey singing and then did some Argentinian/Mexican traditional dances that were fabulous. It was a night to remember for sure! Reminded us of our "honey moon" trip on Lake Coeur D'Alene. Only much warmer!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Monday....Morning

Good Morning!
After my last post, my husband decided he'd try a different approach to morning time.... This morning I woke up to him lovingly gazing into my eyes as he said "Good Morning my beautiful princess....Yes, you're still on your Mexican dream vacation..... Im hungry...." Consolation prze.... I still don't have to cook! I love this place. And, yes again, Im not allowed to carry my plate, move a chair or pick up my napkin until its on my lap... OHHH the life..... We woke up a little early this morning. We figured out yesterday that ALL the good spots at the pool are taken by 7 am.... So Travis set an alarm so we could get up on time and go claim our place on Board Walk (that is the good piece of property in Monopoly...right? Its got to be at least 10 years since I've played that.... and speaking of 10 years, I feel old saying that. For me to be old enough that something could have actually happened 10 years ago..... SCARY!) Anyway....back to vacation..... (sorry, I get a little side tracked..)

So, we got our primo spots. The spot right next to the pool where the sun won't ever be shaded by a tree until it goes down. Speaking of going down....Its kinda cold here.. Its gorgeous ALL day long, but as soon as the sun start thinking of going down, the pool water cools off, everyone kinda high-tails it out of the pool area and it gets cold. The worst part is, the pool water is cooling off and you can feel it, but you know as soon as you step out of the water its gonna be REALLY cold when the cooling air hits your wet skin.... (though not anything near what it is in the Great Northwest... but compared to the sunny 90 during the day....COLD!)

So today will be filled with.... What I hope to be a lot of nothing, but I think Travis had his fill of nothing yesterday. He's ITCHING to go do something. I think that finding something to eat at times is too much work.. You gotta actually get up...find a restaurant that is open..... SOO much work. We plan on re-visiting Todos Santos and having margaritas and shrimp chilli-relenos at Tequilla Sunrise. We're hoping our names are still written on the wall, but I've got a sneaky suspision that guy might re-paint every year..... He's got to use that "leaving a piece of your soul" line on just about everyone and as of September last year the only bare spots were on the ceiling. Also heard that the dinner cruises are fun, you get to see the Sea Lions, but aparently you SMELL them long before you see them.

Travis was contemplating scuba diving, but in our one quest of yesterday, walking 100 yards to the ocean he decided the water just might be too cold. I'm a little glad at that. I wanted him to go and have a good time, but I also didn't want him to leave me for 5 hours on 2 days..... Maybe next time we come down we'll bring friends/family...someone to entertain me so he can go off scuba diving.

Well, its now 8am and we're off to slather up with Sunscreen (I got a little confident in my base tan and I got burned yesterday, so today Im actually gonna wear some and....reapply throughout the day!) change into swimming suits and try again at this relaxation stuff. We'll be pros by weeks end.

Speakng of weeks end, I reazlized yesterday Im minus two days to my trip and started having a small panic attack at the thought of actually leaving. So far we've had a terrific time and Im not ready for it to be only 5 days left.... We'll post again tonight... photos and stories of our day. Wish you all were here!

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Sunday....So little to do, SOO MUCH TIME TO DO IT!

We, well Travis, woke up this morning about 7 am. (In Seattle/Spokane that's 6 your time.) And of course he wakes me up.... (IM ON VACATION PEOPLE!!!). The first words out of his mouth are not, Good morning my beautiful Princess....welcome to your Mexican dream vacation... but they are.... "Manda... You ready to wake up? Im hungry..." Typical. My consolation prize is that I at least do not have to cook.... I drag myself out of bed, try to tidy my hair a bit and head down for breakfast...

What I neglected to tell you in the post of Saturday... Is here at the Riu Palace Resort... Im a princess. Most everyone knows that I am a self proclaimed one....and after 10 years of "together" Travis has finally given into this.... (Its taken a LOT of work to get him to give in....). But, as I was saying.... Princess... Im not even allowed to carry my own plate from the buffet line to our table. I get like 3 steps from serving my plate and somone is running to grab it from me and carry it to the table. Its not that heavy... I really don't eat THAT Much..... They pull out my chair, push it in and even put my napkin on my lap. Its been 1 day.... Im getting used to this. I figure that Travis will only have to pay out about 80-100K for me to move in full time. Seems reasonable doesn't it? I'd let him visit on weekends. One thing is for sure.... Im not coming home...... (At least Im going to be in denial about this until Saturday around noon when we have to check out or be thrown out....)

So, today has been a lot of nothing. A lot of sitting, a LOT of sunshine. We spent most of the morning sitting at the pool, sitting in the pool....and of course we've adopted the Mexican tradition of the siesta!









Cute when he sleeps, huh?

Its almost 5, we're off to find a snack and have some more pool time. It closes at 7. Tomorrow we'll actually look into doing something ,but for today..... Nothing has been a LOT of fun.

Love to all...

ON OUR WAY!


Yes, this is the view from our room....... Sorry.

Saturday morning we woke up bright and early.... Alarm was actually set this time! Woke up at 6:30 to begin our day and get to the airport by 8:30. Jenn made us a wonderful breakfast, we showered, changed...said goodbye to the puppies, who quite frankly LOVE their Auntie Jenn and could care less that we were leaving. She has the good treats......

Arrived at the airport, dropped off our checked bags and headed through screening. They just happened to open a new line as we got to the lines, so we were first! No problems... Our flight left just a little late, as one of our flight attendants needed/wanted off... (Is that a bad sign?). Slight delay and we were off. Seattle to Cabo is a 4 hour flight. Mostly uneventful, NO Movie.... about every twenty minutes, poor Travis gets my never ending question.... "How much longer?". He put up with it like a champ... I think mostly because he didn't have to sit next to me, as our seat arrangements were changed by Alaska Airlines...we didn't complain though... Row 6. Extra legroom....

We landed in Cabo with a big bump.... Quite possbly the worst landing I've ever experienced, but who cares....we can see palm trees, so we know its about to get better. I braced myself for the opening of the doors. I prayed that we wouldn't have the same wall of heat and humidity greet us as our last trip.... It was perfect. A warm 90ish degrees and about 30% humidity. Couldn't have asked for more perfect weather. We got through customs fine and waded through the hall of time share sales reps like Pros..... Eyes ahead, don't make eye contact... Keep walking.

We found our Grayline shuttle easily and we were headed out. Anyone want to invest in Nascar with us? We found a driver! That guy was nuts, but we felt oddly safe.... didn't even buckle our seat belts.... Were there any????

We arrived at our resort and the bellman must be able to read my mind... the first thing he did was grab us both a margarita. (That or I looked like hell...what do you think?) I'll have to tell you, Im not much of a drinker or a tequilla fan, but that was the BEST margarita I've ever had. Lime Heaven!! We checked in, found dinner (more on that next post) and went to bed. We both had terrible headaches and we were exhausted.

We're Last Minute People - Friday Packing



So, we're last minute people.... Well, scratch that... I'm last minute people, which Travis ends up in the category by default. Its not like he can just leave me behind, that would make him a jerk.... so because I'm late, unorganized, a bit of a control freak....he is a last minute people too. We didn't pack until Friday night. I ended up having to work late on Friday, coupled with the fact that EVERYONE knew I was headed on vacation Saturday morning, everyone at work (customers included!) all got terminal cases of "Amanda... I need this....". What was supposed to be an easy day to just "tidy" up my desk became this mad rush of things that had to get done and me scrambling to do it. I am terrific at my job (self proclaimed...) and I did manage to pull it all off....but an hour later than planned and was late getting home.

Back to the we didn't pack until Friday night part.... We (well... I) put it off all week. I had millions of excuses to not get things started. Needed to pick up sunscreen and happened to "need" to shop along the way.... Needed to pick up dinner and happened to stop at the mall just in case I missed something at Macy's. So Wednesday was the DAY to get things started. Travis has masters school on Thursdays, so if I was going to get anything done before Friday, Wednesday was the day it HAD to happen. Missy Moo.... perfect little princess that she is, decided Wednesday was the day to get sick. So, we ignored it for a few hours, hoping she just had a little upset tummy and in a bit she'd be feeling better. Not the case. She's still sick by 7pm. Where is a vet in Lynnwood? Good question.... we don't know! We hadn't needed one yet. We're doing good, we can get groceries and to work.... Vet?????? It tooks us 2o minutes to find one open that had available spots. Got her there and spent 2 hours to find out... No worms, no parasites....just an upset tummy. THANKS MOO MOO! No packing got done on Wednesday.

So, back to packing. We finished about 10:30. But, I still managed to forget a pair of jeans and white sweater I wanted to bring.... (LIKE WE NEEDED SWEATERS! Its 90 degrees people!!!) We drove to Jenn's house (Manda's sister who got the privilege of watching the babies... Toby and Missy. see above.). We spend the night on the couches (because we got to sleep for a whole 5 hours!! No point in messing up sheets for that.